Skip to content

Cartier Baiser Volé

February 29, 2012

P296504_hero

Image from sephora.com 

 I have worked in the beauty industry for almost three years now, and I haven’t made a fragrance purchase. I attribute that to the high price point that many fragrances have, and the fact that I have received quite a few fragrances over the years for free that I actually ended up loving and wearing all the time.

On one store visit, I just happened to be perusing the fragrance section and this new fragrance by Cartier just happened to catch my eye. The extremely knowledgeable Sephora fragrance expert gave me the history behind Baiser Volé and the story, combined with the scent, made me fall in love. Translated to ‘Stolen Kiss’ in English, Baiser Volé is a romantic fresh, floral, powdery scent that is made solely from the lily flower, utilizing all parts of the flower. When Mathilde Laurent, Maison Cartier’s house perfumer was creating the fragrance, her goal was to please women, and chose a floral scent to accomplish that task.

Vanity Fair did a review on the fragrance and I loved learning more about the creation of the fragrance and Laurent’s intention for women who would wear it:

“Baiser Volé is a personalized rendering, a lily built from scratch. Laurent’s goal was to reach beyond its fragrance to explore the flower in its “raw, natural” state, from the texture of its silky petals to its pistils and stamen, smooth green leaves, and the stem sitting in water. She also helped to define its packaging, choosing for a sleek flip-top bottle inspired by the house’s iconic lighters. The scent—dewy, crystalline, and deep—is spontaneous and direct, as if the flower has been captured through a photographer’s lens at daybreak. In her mind’s eye, Laurent conjured a relatively pure image: a woman wears scent in the crook of her neck; a man leans in to inhale and steal a kiss. Not chaste, but hardly torrid—and definitely not overthought.”

White lily

From vanityfair.com

Although fragrance is an investment in emotion and feeling, for me spending $100 on a fragrance I wasn’t sure was going to wear well on my skin was something I wasn’t ready to commit to. Luckily, Sephora has an amazing policy where if you buy an atomizer for $10, they fill it up with a sample of the perfume for you to take home and try. As I anticipated, I absolutely loved the fragrance and how it feminine and delicate it made me feel. My boyfriend, who also never comments on any of the other perfumes I wear, asked me what I was wearing the first full day I had it on. I unfortunately ran out of my sample of the scent, but I am definitely putting Cartier Baiser Volé on my next Sephora wishlist!

Amanda signature

3 Comments leave one →
  1. -The People permalink
    March 13, 2012 9:35 am

    The People want updates! You don’t want The People to turn into a pitchfork wielding angry mob!

  2. Kissy permalink
    May 8, 2012 5:49 pm

    Just on the name alone you know I have to find this now and try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

