Skip to content

Getting Camera Ready With Smashbox

February 13, 2012

So remember when I wrote this post on the new BB cream trend? Well, I finally picked up a BB cream a couple of weeks ago and got the chance to try it out this weekend. Last week was the first week of my new job, and I came into the weekend feeling exhausted! I normally never feel like wearing a lot of makeup on the weekend, but this weekend I honestly couldn’t even motivate myself to look decent enough to leave the house. But then I remember I had my Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream SPF 35 sitting on my makeup tray just waiting to be used.

There are quite a few BB creams on the market right now, all from well-established brands like Clinique, Dr. Jart, Boscia and Too Faced but I chose the Smashbox version because of the brand’s “camera ready” tagline. I’ve said before that I need to wear medium to full coverage makeup, and even before I tested all the different brands out at Sephora, I was leaning towards Smashbox.

P300339_hero

According to the Sephora website, Smashbox’s BB Cream,

This multitasking tinted cream formula with SPF 35 hydrates, primes, perfects, controls oil, and protects for flawless skin on set and beyond. Formulated with emollients and optical pearl pigments, this BB Cream gives skin a glowing, ethereal look and provides a hydrating veil for the complexion to maintain moisture on the surface of the skin. With its ultra-smoothing finish, it instantly re-texturizes to create a smooth canvas. Especially when worn under foundation, it enhances the wear of makeup for up to eight hours. Ideal even for oily complexions, this expert formula with UVA/UVB protection helps inhibit oil to prevent the complexion from getting shiny throughout the day without the typical chalky matte finish.

 

I wore this only with an illuminating foundation under my eyes and found that it really gave me the finish that I was looking for. My skin looked really smooth and the finish didn’t feel unnatural or heavy. It definitely felt like I was wearing a tinted moisturizer but did more for me in terms of giving me a finished look. I did also use some concealer (my face is a bit broken out at the moment) but I don’t think I would even need that once my skin clears up. As of now, I am definitely a fan and this product will become a regular in my weekend beauty regimen.

The only criticism I have of the whole BB cream trend that could be a major issue in the long run if brands don’t expand is that the shades available are very limited. For me, there was very little difference between the “fair” and the “light” shades (and I am very light skinned), and “dark” would never work on a someone with really dark skin (i.e., Black or Indian girls). I would also love to try the Boscia version once I am finished with this one, since I tend to lean more towards natural and blended brands when it comes to makeup and skincare with my sensitive skin.

That being said, I am loving this product so far and I can’t wait to keep using it to get that camera ready look with minimal effort everyday!

Amanda signature

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

