Skip to content

The City By the Bay

January 30, 2012

This weekend, my husband and I went to San Francisco to visit my sister for her birthday.  She and her boyfriend recently moved from NYC to San Fran and she is loving the city so much, I was excited to go and see her and experience what she loves as I have never been before.

Here are a few fun facts about San Fran:
– It is the most densely settled large city (population greater than 200,000) in the state of California and the second-most densely populated large city in the United States after New York City.
– San Francisco’s Chinatown is the largest and oldest in North America
– Lombard Street (the curvy street) has 8 switchbacks and 12 flowerbeds.  The street was created with the curves for safety reasons as it was one of the steepest streets.

Enough with the history lessons!  Here are a few things I saw and did while out there. From left to right.  The view from my sister and her boyfriends apartment.  The trek from sea level to get to their apartment that we would walk every day (the stairs went well beyond the picture).  The sea lions at Fishermans Wharf.  The famous SF trolly that we took a ride on.  Walking down Lombard Street where you can see the serious incline we walked up (my sister and my husband in pic).  The famous Lombard Street.  Prison cells at Alcatraz.  Driving across the Golden Gate Bridge.  Sampling beers at Russian River Brewing Company in Santa Rosa (my husband is a huge fan of craft beers and Pliny the Elder is his favorite so it was a must see.  That is he and I in the pic).  Stopping to take a breather during our hike in Marin (my sister and I).  Stopping along the side of the road on the drive home to enjoy the sunset.  Enjoying a food and wine pairing at Williamson Wines in Healdsberg, CA where everyone there was super friendly and extremely knowledgeable (the town itself was so much fun to visit). 

image
image

We did so much more but I have to stop with the pictures at some point.  Hope you enjoy the “trip” as much as I did.  I know understand why my sister loves her new home as I left San Fran already planning my next trip back! 

All my Love,
Lindsay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

