Skip to content

My Beauty Basics

January 25, 2012

makeup 2

My beauty routine has always consisted of the basics. I’m not a huge makeup girl (except for my nail polish obsession), so I find what I like, and stick with it. During the work week, I usually just stick with concealer, foundation, blush, bronzer and mascara since I am always rushing to get ready and out the door. Weekends are usually when I’ll wear eyeliner and eye shadow, but even then I stick with neutral colors that compliment my skin tone and don’t make me look too overdone. I know I’ll never be the girl who wears crazy colored eye shadow or glitter eyeliner, since the furthest I’ll go with makeup experimentation is with my lip color. I treat my face as a neutral canvas, and always strive for a natural, classic look. These are the makeup products in my daily regimen that I find work for me in creating that look!

beauty regimen 

  1. Benefit Boi-ing: Great concealer! I usually use over blemishes and under my eyes to get rid of bags before I put my foundation on.  
  2. Sue Devitt Triple C-Weed Pressed Powder Foundation: I’ve had trouble finding a foundation that’s full coverage but won’t irritate my very sensitive skin. This powder foundation is silicone-free so it doesn’t clog my pores or irritate my skin, and it goes on light but wears as well as any other full coverage foundation.
  3. NARS Bronzing Powder: This bronzer in Laguna gives my face the perfect glow that brightens up my pale, winter skin.
  4. NARS Blush: This blush, in Orgasm, is a cult classic for the brand and it lives up to all the hype. It gives the perfect amount of color to your cheeks and the shade is perfect for year-round wear.
  5. Sephora Collection Colorful Palette: I can use one shade for a simple wear-to-work look, or can combine shades for a neutral smoky eye to wear out to happy hour or on the weekend.
  6. Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner: I received this eyeliner in my January Birchbox, and I’ve already gone out to buy it in another color! Its foolproof application (am I the only one who finds it REALLY HARD to put eyeliner on?!) and ability to wear it in a thick line, or smudged for a more subtle look has made it my go-to for everyday.
  7. Benefit They’re Real! Mascara: I also received this in one of my recent Birchbox’s, and used the sample until it ran out! I just bought the full size, and I can’t get over how long and luscious it makes my lashes look.
  8. Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray: This is a recent addition to my daily routine (an impulse buy at the checkout at Ulta) and I am so happy I bought it! A couple of sprays after I finish putting my “face” on helps keeps my makeup from looking cakey, and helps my face to feel fresh all day long.

Images from 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Amanda signature

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

