Skip to content

A little friction never hurt anyone…

January 19, 2012

Winter is by far my least favorite season.  Not only because this native Texan cannot handle the cold climate or because I am constantly shocking myself when I take off my jacket, but because it is torture on my skin.  During the winter months, chilly temperatures, cold winds, low humidity, long hot showers and dry indoor heat can strip the moisture from your body.  No matter how many times I moisturized, my skin continued to feel dry.  So I realized I needed to try a few more things in my daily regimen to help my skin.  I removed products with alcohol from my beauty counter, I began exfoliating, and drank a lot more water.  Thankfully, due to my love of beauty products, I have been able to try (and fall head over heels for) a few exfoliating products that have helped my skin to survive the cold, harsh winter months.  Below are some exfoliating products that I have tested and stand by. 

For a dry face, try: Origins Modern Friction ($37.50)

image

I began using this product when it came in a jar, not a bottle and swear by it.  The tagline is that the product is natures gentle dermabrasion and that it is.  It contains rice starch (to get rid of dull skin), aloe (to help soothe) and lemon oil (to help illuminate) in it.  Two to three times a week, massage over dry skin (if you have sensitive skin, use a little water) in an upward, circular direction.  Rinse with lukewarm skin.  

For a dry body, try: Bath and Body Works Sugar Scrubs (16.00)

image

There are tons of body scrubs out there but I really like the Bath and Body Works brand as they are reasonably priced and they offer the best variety for scent.  I scoop out a handful of this three times a week during my shower.  The formula combines exfoliating Sugar and a special moisturizing blend of Sunflower, Safflower, Sweet Almond and Jojoba Oils to leave skin silky smooth  I personally love the lavender vanilla scent because it is so relaxing

For dry lips, try: Fresh Sugar Lip Polish ($22.00)

image

This stuff is a little pricey but it is worth they splurge when your lips need it the most.  I have the WORST habit (thanks Mom 😉 ) of biting my lips which can make it even worse when they are chapped.  Thanks to this little jar, I can get rid of the dead skin while moisturizing at the same time.

For dry hands, try: Aveda Hand Relief ($20.00) and/or L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream ($26.00)

image  image

I had to put these on here even though they are not exfoliants because I am constantly moisturizing my hands! This one is a tie for me because I love them both!  I have both in my bag and use whichever one I can get my hands on first.  Both contain vitamin E to help nourish hands. 

On top of all of these, there is the every so amazing hydrating tip of drinking more water!  Which I am guilty of not doing every day. 

All My Love,

Lindsay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

